• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Can I Trust a Customer's Check Without Confirming Funds?

In summary, the conversation is about a person who encountered a declined credit card payment and ultimately ended up accepting a check from the customer. They are concerned about the check bouncing and inquiring about ways to verify the funds. The conversation discusses the possibility of going to a local bank branch to cash the check and the varying policies among national banks. It is suggested to call the bank or go to the local branch to verify the funds before depositing the check.
barbara_anne
If I call a bank stating that I am a business owner presented with a check from their customer, will they confirm that said customer does/does not have the money in the account to cover the check?

To make a long story short, I had a show with a declined card and called and left multiple messages for the guest to verify the credit card number. After many messages later and getting the host involved in talking to her friend, I closed out the show paying for the order ($29) because she said she would pay cash. (I know, I know don't scold me). Anyway, I told the host not to give her friend the order until I have the cash in hand, she agreed to this.
The host and the guest involved work together at a place that I frequently do business with and said guest was to give me the cash today. Instead of giving me cash, she handed me a check stating she did not have the time to go to the bank to get cash out. I then told the host not to give this person her products until I have called to let her know that the check cleared.