• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

What Are Some Common Problems With Using a Cookie Press?

In summary, if your customer is having trouble with her cookie press, suggest that she refrigerate the dough before use, make sure the press is assembled correctly, and apply even pressure when pressing the cookies. If she continues to have trouble, reach out for further assistance. Happy baking!
lbalks
I just received an email from one of my customers. She says that she is having trouble getting her cookie press to work. She says she "cannot get the cookies to come out of the press...and when they do, they are disfigured". I have never used the cookie press, plus I'm a new consultant so I am not sure of what tips to give her. Any suggestions?

It takes a lot of practice and patience. I found that if you twist it one and a half times then wait a few seconds before lifting the press, you get a nice cookie.

Sounds like the dough is too wet ... mine did that when I was practicing. It's really a fine line with the consistency. She'll need to play around with what works ... do you know if she is using the PC spritz cookie recipe or something different? The dough can't be wet/sticky OR too hard ... Also, the cookie sheets/stones can't be hot and I heard that parchment paper won't work either because they are non-stick & the cookies won't grab onto it ... there is a whole other thread about this that you would probably like. With good recipes too! :)

Tell her to add more flour. Not too much but a little at a time until it's better. My uncle was having the same problem and I told him to do the same thing. It worked much better for him. When we compared recipes both of our have 1 lb of butter but his only had 2 1/2 cups flour while mine had 4 1/2!