• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Will Selling Pampered Chef Affect My Taxes as a Consultant?

J
jtjacaldwell
I've been a consultant since March & my husband has me worried about our taxes. He seems to think that selling PC will hurt us this year when we file our taxes. Are there any PC veterans out there that can give me some tips?

I am not a veteran - started in April of this year.

You will have to pay taxes on what you earned from PC. They do not withhold and just send you a 1099.

I have a special account set up that I withhold the taxes from each check and put it in for year end.

I have also been told that any prizes and bonuses you earn they add that to your 1099 and you have to pay taxes on them too. Unless you know how to write them off.

Hope this helps some, but this is my first tax year with PC too, so, I do not know for sure how it all works.

There are quite a few threads on this topic, so you should be able to find a lot of information if you do a search.Things that you buy for your business are deductable as a business espense: postage, food for demos, mileage to shows/meetings, office supplies, paperwork, products to demo, conference registration, meals and hotel at conference, logo clothing, business cards, etc. Keep receipts so that you can document. There's a place in Pampered Partner where you can enter everything as the year progresses and then just print a report.

Thank you, I'll see what I can find on the threads.