1. Pampered Chef relies on relationships and communication. How are you managing your business in the wake of Coronavirus and social distancing? Discuss here
    Dismiss Notice

Pampered Chef: Need Help for a Recipe

  1. Brenda K.

    Brenda K. Member Gold Member

    117
    1
    Hi everyone. I need help. I am doing a brunch show and the host is allergic to eggs and dairy products. Anyone have any recipes that they know of without eggs and dairy for a brunch show? Thank you for any and all ideas.
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #1
  2. jenniferlynne

    jenniferlynne Senior Member

    2,005
    0
    Here are a few things that I have found. If you don't have certain cookbooks, let me know and I will post the recipe.

    It's Good For You-Apple-Cherry Crisp on page 122
    All The Best-Apple Berry Salsa with baked cinnamon chips-pg 18
    All The Best-Cherry Almond Angel Roll-pg. 86
    All The Best-Cool & Creamy Chocolate Fondue with fruit-pg 96
    All The Best-Mom's Apple Crisp-pg 99
    All The Best-Heavenly Lemon Angel Cake-pg 119


    If these don't work, or you need the recipes, just let me know. Cool whip is non-dairy, so these should be ok. A couple call for angel food cake mix, so might need to see if that is ok to use.
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #2
  3. Brenda K.

    Brenda K. Member Gold Member

    117
    1
    Thank you Jennifer. I have these cookbooks. I guess you always learn something, I would have thought Cool Whip was dairy. :)
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #3
  4. pamperedalf

    pamperedalf Senior Member Silver Member

    2,886
    1
    cool whip is dairy it is made with heavy whipping crm and sugar. I am lactose intolerant and if I don't have my pills I am in big trouble. I can't handle butter w/out them.
    :D
    There are egg substitues see if you can use those.......
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #4
  5. jenniferlynne

    jenniferlynne Senior Member

    2,005
    0
    Am I dreaming or did the cool whip package used to say "Non-Dairy whipped topping" on it? I got a container of it out of the fridge and it doesn't say that anywhere. I was even at a pitch-on once when someone said the cool whip should be stuck in the fridge and someone else said it didn't need to be because it was non-dairy. Wow. Thanks for catching that. Someone could have gotten sick.
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #5
  6. jenniferlynne

    jenniferlynne Senior Member

    2,005
    0
    My husband said he thinks that it is Reddi Whip (in the can) that is non-dairy. I wonder if that can be substituted for cool whip. Anyone ever tried? It may not work, just wondering. Or what about Dream Whip?
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #6
  7. scottcooks

    scottcooks Veteran Member Gold Member

    1,934
    94
    Reddi-Whip instead of Cool Whip?

    Careful substituting Reddi-Whip.

    I had an open house and forgot cool whip - the host had Reddi Whip, and the chocolate mousse turned out really flat. Tasted OK, but didn't have the same texture... looked a little funky.

    I'd leave Reddi for topping your creations / jello / etc.

    Cool Whip is more substantial and (no doubt thanks to all its stabilizers, gums and additives) is better as a mix-in ingredient.

    So - it didn't work well for me to use Reddi-Whip in place of Cool Whip.

    I think you could get non-dairy whipped from mixing coffe-mate with dreamwhip - not sure if dreamwhip has milk or not. Good luck!
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #7
  8. fruit76loop

    fruit76loop Veteran Member Gold Member

    1,161
    0
    Pulled the container out of the fridge!

    Ok, I thought Cool Whip was non-dairy as well, so I happened to have a container of CoolWhip Lite in the fridge. It says "Contains: 0g of lactose per serving.

    The ingredient list is:Water, corn syrup, high-fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernal oils), less than 2% of sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavors, modified food starch, xanthan and guar gumsm polysorbsate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphatesm :rolleyes: , beta carotine (color).

    So I would take it that it is lactose free! :D
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #8
  9. pamperedalf

    pamperedalf Senior Member Silver Member

    2,886
    1
    To be safe, I would just check w/ the host before using cool whip. It may be lactose free but if she is alergic to mlk than that could be different. :D
     
    Jan 19, 2006
    #9
Have something to add?