• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Hiring High School Tutors: Results, Pay & Session Length

other students HATE...math tutoring.I used to work as a tutor when I was in high school. I was paid $10 per hour, which for me was AWESOME because at the time it was a lot more than I would have earned as a babysitter. Not sure how much times have changed since then. I tutored a 7th grader and I was in 11th grade. Basically the teacher sent home a packet of worksheets (math, grammar, etc.) and it was my job to help walk the student through it all until she understood it better.I think it would be a good idea to try and find a tutor through a website like Care.com
amy07
My oldest DS is in need of some tutoring (4th grade) in math. I was thinking of trying to hire a high school student. Have any of you ever done this? Or has your child tutored a younger student? Did you get the desired results? And what about pay? What is a fair price to pay for 2-3 days/week? And how long to tutoring sessions last?

I used to work as a tutor when I was in high school. I was paid $10 per hour, which for me was AWESOME because at the time it was a lot more than I would have earned as a babysitter. Not sure how much times have changed since then. I tutored a 7th grader and I was in 11th grade. Basically the teacher sent home a packet of worksheets (math, grammar, etc.) and it was my job to help walk the student through it all until she understood it better.

thanks Katie!
I checked into those centers - ACKKK!! Outrageously expensive in my area. Now, to find a good high school student with LOTS of patience!