• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Troubleshooting My Molten Lava Cake in the Microwave

In summary, the conversation was about making Molten Lava Cake and tips for making it perfectly. Some suggestions included using less frosting, cooking with the lid on, and adding extra frosting on top after cooking. The frosting is meant to go to the bottom of the cake, creating the "lava" effect.
chefnene
I am a brand new consultant and was trying out the Molten Lava Cake as a trial run for my party. I cooked it in the microwave for 10 minutes without the lid. The cake seemed alittle too well done, and all of my icing seemed to be on the side corners of the DCB. Am I doing something wrong?:confused:

I cook mine with the lid on for 11 minutes. Then I take it out and remove the lid and let it sit for 15-20 minutes. It's perfect every time! How much frosting are you using? I don't use the whole can, maybe about 3/4 of it. Some will ooze up and out sometimes, but if I use less frosting, sometimes it's just not enough or the cake is dry.

Thanks, I will try again your way!

Tonight was my first try with the Lava Cake. I only used about 1/2 can of the icing. It was moist & tasted great, but all of the icing went to the bottom. The directions I had was to put "dabs" of it on top of the cake mix & cook in microwave uncovered for 10 minutes. That's what I done, but for some reason it all ended up on the bottom. Is it supposed to?

Yes, the icing is supposed to end up on the bottom. You "dip" the cake out. I serve mine in clear cups w/ colored spoons and a dab of whip topping.

Rhonda-Roo said: