• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

I Really Want to Love the Mandoline...

In summary, the mandoline is a tricky tool to use and it is not practical for most people to use. The blades can be difficult to use and the mandoline is not as good of a quality as other kitchen tools.
pamperedmomto3
Hello! I'm having difficulty falling in love and using the mandoline. I'm a new consultant and have attempted to use the mandoline several times. I've been met with success when grating carrots and slicing onions but I'm stumped when it comes to tomatoes. I don't get nice slices and the tomato mushes. Any suggestions...Also, can anyone give me some tips on how to sell this item as well as a variety of uses.

Thanks!!!

Tomatoes are tricky - they can't be overripe and mushy.

Make sure they are refrigerated first so they are colder and have more structure.

What blade are you using for them?

Use roma tomatoes and the v-blade.

Better yet, use the Green Tomato Knife.

I am not in love with the mandoline either. I would rather show the tomatoe knife, cheese grater, and forged cutlery anytime

I LOVE the US&G

But the mandoline - :thumbdown:

Whenever I used the us&g at shows - well everyone loved it - they would book for that.

Well the mandoline is different - I can't seem to get that thingy to work

I stopped showing the mandoline - tomatoes were a mess - cucumbers looked terrible.

I know that I need to practice more but why

I am so happy that they did replace the us&g because now my us&g is on my counter and I use it every day. Well - at least 5 times a week

I LOVE THE :D US&G :thumbup: