• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Colossal Chopped Salad: A Refreshing Twist on a Classic Italian Dish

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's experience with the Colossal Salad, a dish they have been making for a couple of months. They use a large platter to display the salad and add some plate artistry with vegetables and cheese curls. They also share some tips, such as steaming the broccoli and using a garlic press for added flavor. The guests and hosts loved the dish and the speaker has even sold several large bowls of it.
DebPC
Staff member
I've been doing the Colassal Salad for a couple of months. It was beautiful on the large platter. I did some of the veggies in "strips" across the top of the pasta, kind of like a Cobb Salad.
One thing I changed was to steam the broccoli for about 2 minutes in the
micro-cooker. It brightens the color, plus the guests were happy that the
broccoli wasn't totally raw. I also pressed garlic in the 1/2 inch of water
I used in the micro-cooker. That way I could show the press too. To be honest I liked the way the salad looked on the platter better than I
do in the new bowl, just because I can do a little more "plate artistry"
around the sides of the platter (cheese curls w/zester, julienne sliced
carrots, tomato slices, etc. just kind of added to the look around the
edge).
We did Pillsbury breadsticks on the stones, sprinkled with Italian seasoning
and parm. cheese, and served them in the bread crock.

Guests & hosts loved the recipe, and I have to laugh because it really is
"just pasta and veggie Italian salad" that they've probably been serving for
years. It is all in the presentation and a few little changes.

Gail C

Colassal Chopped Salad DressingI make the Italian Dressing in the MMP using Balsamic vinegar - they love