• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Chicken Turned Out Too Dry in Dcb

In summary, a customer complained that her chicken breasts cooked in the DCB turned out too dry. Some possible reasons for this could be overcooking, leaving the lid off, or using a microwave with a higher wattage. It is important to use a meat thermometer and to adjust cooking time based on the size and number of chicken breasts. It is also recommended to cook with the lid on to retain moisture.
gnlf
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie, and plodding along very slowly with my business. I am much less of a cook so I would appreciate some pointers. I recently hosted a show where some ladies bought the DCB and when they microwaved chicken breasts, they complained it turned out too dry. What can I tell my customers to add in it that makes it less dry?
Thank you.
Grace

How long did they cook it? Did they do it with the lid on or off?I think about 8-10 minutes for 2-3 chicken breasts with the lid on usually gets it cooked through. Leaving the lid off or cooking it longer than it needs to would probably dry it out. Also, every microwave is different so times will vary and they will need to play with their DCB to get the timing right. The meat thermometer is great for that. You can take the chicken out when it's not quite up to 160 degrees and let it sit covered for a few minutes on the counter and it will finish cooking through and stay moist. I've never need to add anything to keep them moist as long as I didn't overcook them.Shari in TX

Yup..user error ;). Or misinformed
Lid on, add nothing. Start at 10 minutes. If really large pieces I may do 12-13 min. Then use a meat thermometer!! Dont guess. They probably cooked too long or lid off as mentioned.Just ask them to tell you what they did and go from there.