• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

MS & Disability: Can I Work as a Consultant? - Expert Advice

In summary, it is possible to work as a consultant while receiving disability benefits through the Social Security Administration's (SSA) Ticket to Work program and Trial Work Period. The Ticket to Work program provides access to employment services and protections for individuals who may experience a decrease in earnings. The Trial Work Period allows beneficiaries to test their ability to work for at least nine months without losing benefits. There are no specific restrictions on the type of work that can be done, but earnings must be reported and may affect benefits. Medicare and Medicaid can still be received while working as a consultant, and there are additional work incentives available. It is recommended to consult with a benefits counselor or the SSA for a full understanding of options and potential impacts on benefits.
mmilus
Gold Member
I have a customer that has MS. Right now she is able to hold down a full-time job but knows that sooner or later she will probably have to go on disability. She has been interested in PC for a long time and wondered if it is possible, from a legal standpoint, to be a consultant while on disability. She's going to check with her accountant and her attorney but I told her I'd check her as well and see if anyone has experience with this. Thanks! Marci